I hope everyone had a great week back home!!

My week here in Campana went pretty well. We visited a lot of the investigators that we had already and four of them accepted a baptismal date for the end of this month. Though out the week, the lessons seemed to be going really well. As the week went on, we started to see the bumps in the road get a little bigger for some of our investigators.

At the moment, we are teaching a couple who are relatives of a recent convert family in the ward.They are a really nice couple who were among those surprise investigators that showed up to church last week. We are helping them get married as fast as we can so that we can start working towards a baptismal date with them. The biggest obstacle that Juan Jose is dealing with is the Word of Wisdom. Earlier in the week, we addressed the issue and he gave us permission to take all of the cigarette packs that he had in his house so it would be easier for him to drop the habit. We did that and  by the next visit he still had not smoked but he said it was by far the hardest thing that he has ever done in his entire life. He is still going strong and as far as we know, he still hasn’t smoked. He is doing great!

As for a little more information on the other people we are working with… I think I will tell you about another family that we are working with. Familia Niez is definitely an awesome family, there are a lot of them too!  There are the two parents and then like six kids. The two oldest boys (Lautaro y Dylan) are members of the church. They were baptized a while back by some other Elders,  and now their little sister wants to follow in the footsteps of her older brothers. Her name is Candela and she just recently turned 8. She was the one that actually showed us their house the first time we went to talk to the family. The parents are not married which means they cant get baptized but they are working on it. We were teaching them about the Plan of Salvation and that really caught their attention. They started asking a lot of questions and we explained that if they were to be baptized, a year later they would be eligible to be sealed in the temple for time and all eternity. When we told them that their eyes just seemed to light up. I really think that is what they want in their life…really an awesome thing to see.

One last thing that happened this week. We had interviews as a zone with President Smith this past week and I was talking to him about how I didn’t believe that my testimony of the Book of Mormon was strong enough.  Talking to him about that really seemed to lift my spirits about the whole thing but I was still feeling off a little bit. I was thinking about it more later that night and I realized that my testimony didn’t come from a great answer that I had received stating that the book was true. My testimony of the Book Of Mormon comes from looking back and seeing all of the blessing that I have received from being part of a family and a religion that is based on the Book Of Mormon. The Book of Mormon has brought so much happiness to me and my family…it just has to be true. It just makes sense. How could something that wasn’t true bring that same level of happiness that it has brought to me in my life?  A quote by the father of Elder Holland says it best. “No evil man could write such a book, and no righteous man could write such a book. Unless we was called of God”

I know that the Book of Mormon is true. I know that it has the power to change all of our lives, but only if we let it. We have to take the time to, read it, think about it, and pray about it. It is only until we do that that we will know within our very own soul that the Book of Mormon is truly another testament of Jesus Christ. The blessing that I have seen people receive from doing those three things continue to confirm to me of the truthfullness of the Book of Mormon.

I hope everyone has a great week this coming week as I know I will. But before I sign out, I would like to give a quick shout out to my brother Zach. I am so proud of him for making the Jr. High Football team this year!!!!!!!!
#Chargers #Number38

 

Elder Justice

 

dsc07119

